Posted in 1 Corinthians

1 Corinthians 16 -DONE

I am getting er done!! Obviously I am the only one that enjoyed this study, since only I participated, it really was fun! 

This all began with Paul having to straighten out the WRONG WRONG WRONG thinking of the Corinthians, now he is closing the letter, taking care of the regular business as if they were not screwing up.  16 Now concerning the collection for the saints, as I have given orders to the churches of Galatia, so you must do also:2 On the first day of the week let each one of you lay something aside, storing up as he may prosper, that there be no collections when I come. 3 And when I come, whomever you approve by your letters I will send to bear your gift to Jerusalem. 4 But if it is fitting that I go also, they will go with me.   Take up offerings now so we don’t have to do it when I get there. 5 Now I will come to you when I pass through Macedonia (for I am passing through Macedonia). 6 And it may be that I will remain, or even spend the winter with you, that you may send me on my journey, wherever I go. 7 For I do not wish to see you now on the way; but I hope to stay a while with you, if the Lord permits.  Travel plans 8 But I will tarry in Ephesus until Pentecost. 9 For a great and effective door has opened to me, and there are many adversaries.10 And if Timothy comes, see that he may be with you without fear; for he does the work of the Lord, as I also do.11 Therefore let no one despise him. But send him on his journey in peace, that he may come to me; for I am waiting for him with the brethren.  Be nice to Timothy, don’t run him off. 12 Now concerning our brother Apollos, I strongly urged him to come to you with the brethren, but he was quite unwilling to come at this time; however, he will come when he has a convenient time. Apollos won’t come visit, and I assume he does not want to associate with such a messed up group of people, his choice, and seems Paul agrees with him. 

13 Watch, stand fast in the faith, be brave, be strong. 14 Let all that you do be done with love.15 I urge you, brethren—you know the household of Stephanas, that it is the first fruits of Achaia, and that they have devoted themselves to the ministry of the saints— 16 that you also submit to such, and to everyone who works and labors with us.  I think Paul is telling them yet again BE NICE because they have a tendency not to be. 17 I am glad about the coming of Stephanas, Fortunatus, and Achaicus, for what was lacking on your part they supplied. Lacking on your part seems to be pointing out that where they are failing spiritually to build up and help these others did so. 18 For they refreshed my spirit and yours. Therefore acknowledge such men.19 The churches of Asia greet you. Aquila and Priscilla greet you heartily in the Lord, with the church that is in their house.20 All the brethren greet you.Greet one another with a holy kiss.21 The salutation with my own hand—Paul’s.22 If anyone does not love the Lord Jesus Christ, let him be accursed.O Lord, come! Pretty black and white. 23 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. 24 My love be with you all in Christ Jesus. Amen.

Gods Word is alive today, it pertains to today.  Hebrews 4:1212 For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.The Corinthians were full of pride and had changed the Word of God to meet their needs and to dismiss those they did not approve of. I do not know if all the Corinthians were believers. I don’t think so. I do not think all who ‘practice’ Christianity are believers.   Today is not different than the day Paul wrote the letter. Ecc. 1:19 That which has been is what will be, That which is done is what will be done, And there is nothing new under the sun.   It would do us all well to abide to God’s Word, lest we be accursed. 

 
Author:

Aspiring to be the Christian Gluten Free Queen of the World. I love writing/blogging, painting, decorating, grand mothering, cooking, helping others BE gluten free, old movies, family, God, animals, my kids, my grandkids, my husband, talking about adoption. I know about painting murals, cooking gluten free, being a mother in law, special needs, cleft palates, Pierre Robin, Celiac, marriage, faith, God, sons, dogs, cats, gardening, a little bit of horses, building a house and living life blessed.

Leave a Reply

